Chamber of the House of Commons.  Credit @0:30

Chamber of the House of Commons. Credit @0:30

the bill

The Government has announced that there will be eight Brexit bills, all of which the they hope to bring into law by March 2019.

The most important of these – and the only one published so far – is the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill. The Bill is often referred to as the Repeal Bill because it repeals the European Communities Act 1972. It also converts and corrects EU laws into domestic law so there isn’t a sudden legal vacuum on the day after Brexit is complete and implements the withdrawal deal that is currently being negotiated.

The Bill is widely considered to be one of the largest legislative projects ever undertaken in the UK with potentially significant implications for the social and political fabric of the country.

You can find the Bill, explanatory notes and any amendments that are tabled here.

Select Committees

There are number of select committees in both the House of Lords and House of Commons that will produce reports analysing the Bill and advising the Government and parliamentarians of any changes they think should be made. We will post updates on these reports when they are published.